Father’s Day Re-purposed Gift

It’s Father’s Day and I made a little sumthin’ sumthin’! I’m playing with faux leather just because. I haven’t really fully explored the art of leather crafting but it has been on my mind for some time. Aside from not being able to find a source for quality leather yet, I am still very much involved with paper and eraser-carving. So this really is just a preview of the possibilities with leather! (click on the link if you want to learn about leather)

LeatherPaperBagClutch

 

Now, why am I calling this a re-purposed project? Well, ‘coz I did just that. I took an old phone pouch, which I used only once, cleaned it up and turned it into something new!

holder

The before pic was my phone pouch then I turned it into a toothpick holder (of course the photo is not to size, it’s much smaller than that). The gift receiver happens to be obsessed with toothpick and he’s always in need of it, even when he’s not eating. I thought a toothpick holder you can insert in your wallet or keep in your pocket would be a perfect gift! I used these tools.

toolsI gotta tell you, I’m a definite beginner on working (faux) leather and it did get challenging. It took me a couple of hours deciding on the size, which part of the pouch to use, the type of stitch I wanted to make, etc. etc. etc. I won’t go into detail of my ordeal, nonetheless, I succeeded! (This one promises to only take 30 minutes of your time to create a leather pouch, give it a try!)

afterpersonalized holder

I made it even extra special by stamping the letter of the gift-receiver’s initial. Martha Stewart‘s Browstone stamp surprisingly worked well and stayed permanent after heating the stamp under blow dry. I solemnly promise to explore leather crafting in the future and post about it 🙂

Happy Father’s Day!

-Kara

 

Leave a Reply

