Two-Way Kirigami

What I love about kirigami is how it can be easy to do but can also be as complicated as you want it to be. I will be showing you two methods of doing kirigami, one involves paper folding and scissors, the other requires patterns and a craft knife. I prefer the latter because it allows me more options for pattern design. But the first one is perfect for making snowflakes!

snowflakes on etsyOn to the first method. I used an origami paper I got from Daiso, scissors, and a pencil. You can follow this link for an easy diagram of folding your origami paper. Once you’ve done that, take your pencil and draw just about any pattern you like. Keep in mind that when you cut, those lines you created have to be interconnected so that when you open up your paper it’ll form a chain.

supplies 1sketchedNow that you have your pattern drawn, simply cut the paper according to the pattern, unfold it and voila! Not sure what pattern to do? Here‘s a guide that might sort that out for you.

KirigamiI would suggest stacking these paper snowflakes on top of each other to create a 3 dimensional effect. You could even make it a candle holder, cup holder, or anything holder, tie it on a string and put it up on your walls or windows or even trees. There are just so many decorative purposes for this little thing.

suggestionLet’s now move on to the second method which really is a 2-step process but can be very complicated if you want it to. I’m again using an origami paper from Daiso (it’s my source for origami paper, if you haven’t noticed), a pencil, and a craft knife. I recommend using  Maped craft knife because the soft grip makes cutting really comfy.

supplies 2ha! I’m part of this photo, though I had no role in this whatsoever – protractor

The first step dictates whether this will be an easy cut or a difficult cut because here is where you will have to draw your pattern. Again, like in the first method, make sure your pattern is interconnected so it won’t separate once you make your cut. Let’s begin with an easy pattern, a rose. What I’m going to do here is instead of cutting outside my drawn pattern, I’m going to cut the pattern itself, leaving out the rest of the origami paper.

back sketchCutting the pattern itself, I find, is easier since you wouldn’t have to figure out how to interconnect your drawn pattern. When you’re done drawing a pattern, simply cut out along the lines. For this one I’m cutting inside the lines, instead of outside (I would do it in reverse, if you are cutting outside your pattern). In cutting paper, make sure to place your work on a self-healing mat to avoid damaging the surface of your work table. As for the paper, you can use any, just test it out first. Some types of paper do not easily cooperate when you cut them.

buntingAnd you’re done! I just cut the sides of my paper using a craft scissor to turn it into a bunting. And you can hang this on your wall, use it in a mobile, or even on table settings. The possibilities are endless! If you like this pattern, you can download it here: rose pattern kirigami.

Remember what I said earlier about interconnecting patterns? Here’s a sample of how it should look like:

Kirigami typographyBut let’s tackle this on another post 😉 Happy Crafting!

-Kq

 

Leave a Reply

